Warm Cabbage Salad with Beets & Apples

I read in the New York Times yesterday that South Korea is currently suffering from mind-boggling cabbage prices, sending them into a crippling kimchi crisis. You gotta understand, kimchi is a major staple dish in Asian cuisine. Breakfast, lunch, dinner…condiment, side-dish, main course…kimchi covers it all. It’s a big freaking deal. Look, when the price of a single head of cabbage shoots from $2.50 to $14.50, that my friends is called hyperinflation (guess who’s been studying for their econ exam). Not that I’m an  expert on Asian economics or anything, but um that’s plain wrong. Give the people kimchi!

I chose to share that news tidbit simply to help you better appreciate your cabbage. I mean I bought a head down at the Krogs for 65 cents a lb. and I kinda considered it peasant food. I feel slightly bad now.

On the plus side, I learned that a person can eat for quite a while off of  a single cabbage head. Impressive.

As a wee ankle-biter, I found cabbage utterly repulsive. The only exposure I’d ever had with the stuff was through the putrid piles of over steamed mush they slapped on your tray in the cafeteria. Oh, and the mayonnaise salad they attempted to pass off as coleslaw  had a few shreds of cabbage in it.

I was such a poor lost little lamb. I cannot be blamed for my bigotry.

Clueless I was to the plethora of potential cabbage possesses. I never thought a day would come when I’d wanna venture to KFC strictly for coleslaw. Not in my wildest dreams did I imagine that cabbage could be served crisp and sweet and tangy. Needless to say apples and beets were not even a factor in my tiny brain. I don’t think I even knew what a beet was.

Oh how things do change.

Now that I’m old and wise and whatnot, I really dig cabbage. I also have a rather serious addiction to beets…and diet root beer. All’s well that ends well.

I should send cabbage care packages to South Korea.

This has absolutely nothing to do with cabbage, beets, or South Korea, I just wanted to share. Our neighbor, Mr. Bob, brought me and both of my roomies adorable wittle personal cakes. Is that not the most precious thing you’ve ever seen? Mr. Bob brings us food alot, thus Mr. Bob is my friend. Props to Mr. Bob.

Warm Cabbage Salad with Beets & Apples

  • 1/2 head cabbage, shredded
  • 1 can red beets, sliced
  • 1 large gala apple, diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp fruit jam (I used blueberry, raspberry would be delicious as well)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the onion and garlic until translucent and fragrant. Whisk in the vinegar, soy sauce, mustard, and jam.

Add the shredded cabbage to pan and mix to coat in the vinaigrette mixture. Simmer and allow cabbage to soften (about 3-4 minutes).

Stir in the apples and beets. Reduce heat. Cover and continue cooking 3-4 minutes longer.

Remove from heat. Add salt and pepper to taste.

2 thoughts on “Warm Cabbage Salad with Beets & Apples

Leave a Reply

