Mocha Macaroon Cheesecake

I snatched a springform pan from mi casa over the weekend. An action both tremendously exciting and heart-breaking.

Let’s address the happy first.

 In my brain, springform pans mean one thing…cheesecake. And for me, cheesecake is on a whole other level of dessertdom. I will never adequately express my devout love for the stuff. Lock me in the cheesecake factory with Betty White for 72 hours, I’ll never ask for anything again.  If you say you don’t like cheesecake, you’re a big fat blasphemous liar and everyone knows it.

Problem

I CAN’T HAVE CHEESECAKE!!

1.) I am not allowed to bake this week. I am hiding from dessert this week. I am replacing cookies with crunches this week. I simply must learn that cake does not constitute a legitimate food group.

2.) I have a bizarre notion in my brain that one needs a special occasion to justify making a cheesecake. Cheesecake is after all quite special.

All the same, I fully, 110% support you making cheesecake. Immediatly.

I concocted this beauty for my mama’s birthday. She lurves coffee, and coconut, and chocolate, and cheesecake, and me. 

Having alot in common is the basis for any solid mother-daughter relationship.

Please don’t judge me if I end up watching Golden Girls with an entire cheesecake in my lap before the week’ s over. Really, who am I to impose such silly laws over myself?

No one, that’s who.

Mocha Macaroon Cheesecake

For the crust

  • 2 cups crushed macaroon cookies
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1-2 tbsp sugar

For the cheesecake

  • 4 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 & 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 4 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

For the topping

  • 6 ounces semi or bitter-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spread the coconut in a single layer on a baking sheet. Toast the coconut 10-13 minutes, or until browned. Set aside.

Mix the crushed cookies, sugar, and melted butter.Wrap the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan in heavy-duty aluminum foil  Press the mixture into the springform pan. Bake 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Keep the oven at 350 F.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the cream, coffee powder, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Set aside.

Beat the cream cheese in a large bowl until smooth and fluffy. Beat in the sugar, then eggs– 1 at a time. Beat in the flour. Remove half the cream mixture to a separate bowl. Beat the remaining 1 tsp vanilla into the original bowl of cream cheese mixture. Pour this mixture into prepared crust.

Whisk the espresso mixture until powder is completely dissolved. Blend with the remaining half of the cream cheese mixture. Pour espresso-cheescake mixture on top of plain cheesecake batter in prepared crust. Place the springform pan in a larger baking pan and fill with hot water about half-way up the sides of the springform pan, creating a water bath. Bake for about 1 hour and 5 minutes, or until set (center should still be a little jiggley).

Cool on a rack for 30 minutes. Chill in the fridge for at least 6 hours.

Place the chocolate in a stainless steel bowl, set aside. Heat cream and butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a bowl. immediately pour the boiling cream over the chocolate and allow to stand 5 minutes. Whisk until smooth.

Pour the ganache over the top of  the chilled cheesecake in an even layer. Top with the toasted coconut.

 

3 thoughts on “Mocha Macaroon Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: White Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

