Linguine with Acorn Squash and Spinach

At this point, I guess it’s relatively apparent that I really enjoy food. It’s not just like an inner fattie thing; no, not at all. We learn alot from food. And when I say alot, I do mean unfathomable amounts…but don’t let me start on a long-winded, passionate tangent. We’d be here all night and I unfortunately hear the distant call of my impending economics exam beckoning my attention.

I sound kinda sorta brainy today. Owoww.

Food shows us what a growing process life is mean to be. In a perfect world, we would all be a smidge harder, better, faster, and stronger everyday than we were the day before. Too bad we’re not all quite on the same level as Kanye West. Poop.

But sometimes we can see slight glimpses of personal growth.

I happen to adore rich, hearty, tomato-based pasta sauces. I usually have to actively force myself from eating 50% of the leftovers straight from an open fridge with a spoon…or better yet, crusty bread. I apologize, I’m nasty. Could be an Italian thing. We’re almost like vampires; only instead of craving blood and fearing garlic, we crave thirst for marinera sauce and worship garlic.

Despite my deep emotional investment in luscious red sauce, I have developed an astute fondness for pasta adorned in a somewhat more delicate fashion.

Such as lightly dressed in olive oil, roasted veggies, and herbs, with a sprinkle of cheese. Doesn’t that sound utterly dainty and delightful?

Perhaps, I’ll just take my red sauce in a wine glass with dinner.

Cooking teaches us much as well. For example, we should never set a plastic bag of spinach on top of a hot burner. That would make a grody melty plastic mess on the stove and stink up the kitchen. Who even does that?

Sage, roasted acorn squash, wilty spinach, hints of white wine…. ugh such tasty harmony. And so very in season too!

Uh oh, I think we’ve stumbled upon another quality lesson… Eating in season is part of existing in sync with nature.. and living in the moment.. and carpe diem.. and yeah, I swear it’s all related. Those of you who don’t have two midterms coming up, allow your mind to freely contemplate the matter right about now.

Geezy louisy, so many life lessons in a single dish of pasta. Schools should teach with food instead of undecipherable graphs. People would be so much smarter.

Linguine with Acorn Squash and Spinach

Adapted from Bon Appetit

  • 8 ounces linguine
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium white onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 medium acorn squash (you can peel if you prefer, I did not because I like the peel)
  • 10 ounces fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1/2 tbsp parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400F. Cut the squash in half and place on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for about 20 minutes or until tender. Cut into chunks and set aside.

Boil linguine according to package directions, about 12 minutes for al dente. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup of the cooking liquid.

Heat 2 tbsp of the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Sauté the onion and garlic until translucent and fragrant. Add squash and wine and bring to a boil. Add remaining tablespoon oil and reduce heat. Stir in sage, parsley, salt and pepper. Add spinach and allow to wilt, adding reserved pasta water by tbsp as need to moisten. Remove from heat.

Toss with pasta and top with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

One thought on “Linguine with Acorn Squash and Spinach

Leave a Reply

