Tortilla Chip Cookies

I believe I’m quite safe in saying that roughly 50% of you were immediately turned off by the title of this post, 40% were mildly intrigued with what may follow, and the remaining 10% of you  think I actually meant to write “chocolate” in place of “tortilla.”

True, I am indeed a horrendous speller, but I intended no such thing.

As I’ve said before, I tend to cook through experimentation. Very scientific process actually. First, I get these uh…ideas. Then, I make up some excuse as to why I most certainly need to act upon this idea. Next, I proceed to legitimize the need by explaining to an outside party why it would be totally irresponsible to not make whatever pops into my belly’s mind. Finally, I convince myself that the freshly legitimized need outweighs studying plant biology and shimmy on into the kitchen.

I’m truly considering marketing the official “Darcy Scientific Method.” I’d be rich and famous. I could buy fancy cheese everyday.

Up to this point, it’s all easy peezy lemon squeezy. Just your basic cookie dough– butter, sugar, eggs, flour, etc. You know the drill.

I needed cookies anyway. I had to have a few dozen to take home to the fam, and a couple more to chuck in the freezer for my Monday night Bible study chickadees. On top of that, the apartment was cold and  in dire need of oven warmth, tinged with the scent of cinnamon-sugar.

Just covered step 2 of the method. BAM.

Right, so here’s the kicker. Tortilla chips. You may be wondering why in heaven’s name would you ever even consider putting a tortilla chip in anything other than a big bowl of queso dip? Allow me to explain, I have a real reason. Promise.

Have you ever heard of potato chip cookies? They exist, Emeril Lagasse has a recipe for them. I first encountered the crunchy morsels in a community cook off I participated in a couple of years back.  The chips lend a unique crunch texture to a cookie, almost shortbread-like.

So, I thought if you can use tater chips, why not tortilla chips?

I really love cornbread. I’m not sure, but I feel like that may have something to do with why this seemed like a really good idea. Maybe?

The final result is a super crisp cookie, infused with a unique warmth and hint of that lovely salty/sweet balance I do so love. I hate to make such a culinary crude comparison, but they’re almost like a cookie version of those cheapo little cinnamon twist things you get at Taco Bell. Cinnamon-sugar is a must. Must must must. Cinnamon sugar is basically a Snuggie for desserts. Anything you put it on instantly becomes physically warmer, yet mentally cooler. Gotta love it.

I don’t have actual cooling racks. Shame.

Tortilla Chip Cookies

Adapted from Country Living

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar, plus 1/3 cup for rolling
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups tortilla chips, crushed
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Beat the butter and sugars together, using an electric mixer set on medium-high speed, until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to medium and beat in the eggs and vanilla. Reduce speed to low and mix in the flour, salt, and baking soda. Gently stir in the potato chips.

In a shallow bowl, mix together the remaining 1/3 cup granulated sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon.

Scoop the cookie dough by tablespoonfuls and roll in cinnamon sugar. Place onto ungreased cookie sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 14 to 16 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Sprinkle any remaning cinnamon sugar over the cooling cookies.

Makes about 6 dozen cookies.

10 thoughts on “Tortilla Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

