Apple Bundt Cake

I entered this week with a plan. It was reasonably coherent. It was solid. It was so happening.

I learned something about myself… I like to make plans, I like to have plans, I love to write plans down, but I will never follow plans. I think they’re more like helpful comfort blankets.

Well, I  planned exactly what I’d be cooking this week…specifically baking. See, I’m going home this weekend and I’m sort of jazzed about it. So that I don’t get back to Athens Sunday night and immediately enter my sporadic sweet-giblets-I-have-so-much-to-do phase (I don’t travel well), I desperately needed to be oober productive this week. In aspects of my life that don’t involve butter.

It’s just that I bought a cake stand on Sunday. I bought it to sit on our table bearing delightful treats and look all homey and Martha Stewart-like. Well, my beautiful pedestal sat there empty ever since.. and it was driving me nuts.  It looked so hungry. It was heart wrenching.

Building on the problem, I have all these lovely apples in the fridge that would surely rot during my two-day absence. No way I could allow that.

Not to mention, I found this simply charming recipe on Saveur online. So easy, so rustic, so autumnal, so perfect. You don’t even need to break out the electric mixer for goodness sake. I was destined to bake this cozy cake in the beautiful bundt pan I inherited from my 97-year-old great-grandmother, with the apples waiting for a sense of purpose in my fridge, and stick it on my lonely, starving cake stand. You can’t fight destiny.

There was originally one baking project on the week’s agenda. ONE. I even had plans for what I’d use it for. I do not need sweet nom-noms hanging around me. I need celery, elliptical machines, and Gene Simmons hanging around me. Ugh.

Because this cake is so simple, pay attention to what you’re doing. Don’t over-work your batter and don’t over-bake. As in, don’t try to simultaneously do your econ homework. That would be dumb.

I topped mine off with a maple glaze. It was nothing to write home about though. So I say do your own thing there. You can do it, I know you can.

Moist and not overly sweet, this apple bundt cake is super comforting and looks oh so happy on a cake stand.

Sweet sweet peace of mind.

Apple Bundt Cake

From Saveur.com

  • 1 tsp butter
  • 2 cups, plus 1 tsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 & 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 jonagold, empire, or ida red apples, peeled,
       cored, and chopped
  • 2 cups chopped, shelled walnuts

 Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a bundt pan with butter, then dust with 1 tsp. of the flour, tapping out excess, and set pan aside.

 Sift the remaining 2 cups flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together into a large bowl. Add oil, applesauce, and eggs and stir until just combined. Add apples and nuts and gently stir into batter.

Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth out top with a rubber spatula. Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Set cake aside to cool for 15–20 minutes, then invert onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

2 thoughts on “Apple Bundt Cake

  1. You must get the not following plans from me. I even have a hard time forcing myself to make plans. Reading this blog everyday is really making me want to move in with you so I can eat all these yummy things you make. Can’t wait to see you this weekend.

    • ha I think it could very possibly be a genetic thing. I feel better having a general gameplan…I just tend to diverge a bit from time to time. Especially when cake is involved.

Leave a Reply

