German Potato Salad

Monday was sort of momentous day in the kitchen for me. At work, I skinned, hacked, and gutted a whole chicken. I’ve never dealt with an entire body of raw meat before. Twas rather fun. Then,  I came home and cooked bacon for the first time in forever.  And finally…hold on to your hats… I did not dispose of the bacon fat. No sir, not me. No I did not. For the first time in my wee existence, I cooked with it. That’s right, I fried bacon and I then proceeded to cook other food in the lard. I felt so wraunchy… but sweet buttery biscuits, it was a revelation.

 Woo calm down.

Right, so you may have noticed that it’s October. Which, if you’re anything like me means that you’ve also noticed that all foodie websites are hardcore pushing:

A.) Fall Flavors  B.) Halloween-themed food  C.) Faux-American Oktoberfest Feasts

I’ll take… D.) All of the Above, please.

I bet the real Oktoberfest would be insanely awesome, Germans seem like they know how to get down. Yah.

Given that I live on limited means and have a slight obligation to college, I’ll settle with some warm German potato salad for now.

I love potatoes. Alot. I’ve yet to encounter a way of preparing potatoes that I don’t enjoy thoroughly. They’re wholesome and love you like your mama. But in all honesty, a bowl of plain boiled taters isn’t exactly glam. I think a makeover is in order…READY?? OKAY!

I know you like my cheerleaderish enthusiasm. Team tater all the way.

Ughhh Bacon! How I’ve missed thee. I now feel morally obligated to fry bacon on a daily basis to keep the apartment smelling of smoldering pork. Be jealous that you don’t live with me.

This recipe came from  Roommate Rachel’s mama. You can generally trust recipes from someone’s mama.

Actually that’s an old southern mentality that assumes everyone can cook. Use your discretion. In this case, I was so right. Win.

Potato makeover successsssss.

I used white potatoes. I didn’t have red. Don’t judge me.

German Potato Salad

  • 1 & 1/2 lbs red potatoes– diced, boiled, and cooled
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 4-5 slices bacon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chopped parsley

Place the boiled potatoes in a large bowl and set aside.

In a large skillet, over medium heat, fry the bacon until crisp. Remove to paper towels.

Add onions to hot skillet and cook in the bacon fat until slightly tender, stirring frequently.

Remove pan from heat and whisk in the sugar, flour, water, vinegar, and mustard. Return skillet and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and allow mixture to thicken.

In the meantime, crumble the bacon into the potatoes, then add sal, pepper, and parsley to taste. Pour the thickened mixture over the potatoes and stir to combine thoroughly.

 

 

2 thoughts on “German Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

