Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Butterfinger Frosting

I have this pal Amanda, not the aforementioned Amandy Pants (she’s part of the story too, no worries), but another Amanda. And she’s probably just about the most precious girl you could ever hope to meet. I don’t see her bright, smiling face nearly so often as I should. Well, yesterday was her birthday. Wanna know how I found that out?

THROUGH FACEBOOK. That’s right FACEBOOK. I have so little contact with this sweet little sugar dumplin that I had to discover her birthday right along with all of her other 639 Facebook friends. Yes, that is an accurate number. I was livid.

I got over it. Because birthdays give me a legit excuse to bake cake.

 

    

I took the most rational course of action: drew pictures of devilishly decadent cupcakes during plant biology, grabbed Amandy Pants, ran her weird errands, went to Cracker Barrel and ate chicken fried chicken, rented Jenifer’s Body, put on aprons, and got down to business.

Amandy Pants honestly did not know that making cake without a cake mix was possible. Seriously, she really didn’t know. She was highly confused by the trio of ingredient combos necessary for making amazing chocolate cake from scratch. She nearly refused to let me put sour cream in our cupcakes. Poor misguided soul. I was obviously sent to her for a reason.

She sure made the best darn little peanut butter filling lumps I’ve ever layed eyes on though. Did you know that Butterfingers are seriously a peanut butter-based candy? Really, read the wrapper. I mean yeah they’re scrumptious…but they taste nothing like peanut butter.  Bizarre.

When you’re randomly ambushing someone with cake, I feel like cupcakes are typically most appropriate. When you’re making cupcakes, I feel like impregnating them with peanut butter is typically the right thing to do. Once you’ve got that covered, I feel like it would just be a little bit ludicrous to not pile the little pregos up with Butterfinger cream cheese frosting. Ya know?

Cupcakes are good. Cupcakes are grand. Can you live on cupcakes alone? Probably, but one should really maintain a balanced diet. Rice crispy treats, banana bread, bread pudding, and fun-sized Butterfingers are also crucial to health and longevity.

No joke, that’s what I’ve eaten today. This is getting outrageous. I may have to consider the atrocious “D” word soon. Gross.

I’m blaming my Butterfinger crusher. She has a horrible influence on me and convinces me to do completely irrational things. Like taking me to Cracker Barrel, persuading me that there’s nothing wrong with eating an entire order of chicken fried chicken, suggesting that we eat the messed up, dilapidated cupcakes for breakfast, then convincing me that I need a little hobo cat from the farmers market.

There is definitely something wrong with eating that much chicken fried chicken, even over the span of your entire life. You should NOT start the following day with chocolate cellulite cupcakes. And you should never ever ever stop anywhere that has a sign saying “free kittens” and subsequently form a bond with a dumb hobo kitty and name it puppy in your head and convince yourself you’ll never be happy until you get the stupid little fuzzball. UGH, see how this girl is a major detriment to my health? Now I’m on a search mission through Athens  to find a kitty  named puppy, wearing sweatpants because I can’t fit in my real pants. This is an issue.

I have a certain taste for the painfully sweet. It’s a sorta horrendous gift.

 Birthday girl Amanda lives with an equally precious girly names Hillary, who I likewise adore. Hillary’s family happened to come as we delivered these chocolate atrocities. I spent a good amount of time discussing frosting with her grandma…I think that says a good deal about my life.

I was a total doofwad and forgot my camera, so there is no visual proof that I didn’t make this entire birthday story up and actually eat 24 chocolate peanut butter cupcakes alone. Not that it’s not completely believable, but I swear that didn’t happen. Today.

This has been a terribly tangent filled post. I’m terribly sorry. My brains just terribly spazzy. It’s the sugar. Sugar is terrible. I’m eating spinach for a week.

Ugly reject cupcakes= breakfast for champions.

Don’t judge me. I need help.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Butterfinger Frosting

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

For the Filling:

  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 3/4 Cup creamy peanut butter
  • 4 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For the Cake:

  • 1 & 2/3 Cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 8 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs

For the Frosting:

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 6 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups crushed Butterfingers candy bars

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners.

To make the filling, combine the confectioners’ sugar, peanut butter, butter and vanilla extract in a bowl.  Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until well combined.  Roll the mixture into 1-inch balls (at least 24) and set aside on a baking sheet.

To make the cake batter, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl; whisk together and set aside.  In a liquid measuring cup, stir together the sour cream, milk and vanilla extract.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and sugar, and beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed.  With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the dry ingredients and the sour cream mixture, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.  Mix just until incorporated.

Spoon a tablespoon or two of batter into the bottom of each cupcake liner.  Place a ball of the peanut butter filling in each cupcake well and top with the remaining batter so that all the cups are filled.  Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan for 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make frosting, beat cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Mix in confectioners sugar and vanilla. Fold in the Butterfingers pieces. Evenly spread over the cupcakes.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Butterfinger Frosting

  1. Pingback: Three Cheese,Chicken & Spinach Calzones with Marinara Sauce « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

