Butternut Squash Soup

Patiently I have waited. So very patiently. I knew it was coming.

 Yesterday morning it happened… I walked outside, and I was cold. Legit cold. Finally,  a week after the first official day of autumn, good ol’ GA decided to get with the program and switch into fall mode. Georgia tends to be a touch on the slow side sometimes..

I love fall. Yes, yes I do. Sweaters, pumpkin, cinnamon, apples, caramel, Halloween, snuggly, squash, Thanksgiving, leaves, crunchy, maple, hay-rides. Those are words I associate with fall. They’re all warm, happy words. Bring it fall, bring it all.

 

I can think of no better autumnal kick-off than  a bowl of thick, luscious, squash soup. Soup makes my belly go mmmmmmmm. I love soup, like I love fall. I love soup all year long. I make soup at least 1 to 2 times a week. There’s currently 2 types of soup in my fridge and a large tupperware of soup in my freezer. In the dead heat of summer, Ima be eating soup. Hot soup. Heart-warming soup. Keep your cold cucumber caca.

I also love squash. It just works out so well the way these three loves of mine  coincide so well together. Roasted squash is the rock star in this soup.

We’re gonna puree our tender autumn gourd down with some other fab flavors into a thick, velvety elixir of fall lovin.

If you’re not cool as I am, and don’t happen to be the proud mama to a Magic Bullet Express, a blender or food processor will get the job done too. Yay for awesome birfday gifts.

Ugh, I need to return to how much I love soup for a sec. It’s just so… beautiful. There’s a soup for everyone. You can make soup with just about anything you have on hand. Soup can be as hearty, or as delicate as you please. It can be labor intensive or super simple. Meaty or veggie. Elegant or rustic. Sweet or savory.  Always comforting, virtually impossible to mess up, and there’s basically no rules. Yes, soup- diversity in a pot. Soup me up.

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 small yellow onion, finely diced
  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tsp salt… or more to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • parsley for serving

Preheat oven to 400 F, cut squash into quarters and remove seeds, place on a baking sheet and roast 40-50 minutes or until very tender.

Cut carrots into chunks and boil in water 30-35 minutes, or until very tender.

When both squash and carrots are cooked, run carrots under cool water to cool and remove roasted squash from the skins. Place the cooked vegetables in a food processor or blender with the yogurt, applesauce, chicken stock, and milk. Pulse until you have a smooth, pureed mixture.

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Cook the diced onion in the butter until translucent. Add soup mixture to the pot to heat, stirring regularly. Thin the soup to your desired consistency using additional milk. Stir in the cinnamon, garlic, salt, and pepper.

Allow soup to continue cooking about 5 minutes to let the flavors meld. Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with parsley leaves.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

