Reunited, and It Felt Real Good

So, I’m a smidge embarrassed. Three reasons… 1.) I have tragic sunburn lines from  yesterday’s football game 2.) Despite my sacrificed skin to the football heavens, my Dawgs lost 3.) This is my very first blog post ever and I’m totally about to give you the complete polar opposite of all things fancy and shmancy. I apologize; but I there’s a reason, I swear.

Alright, see my roomie from last year came to Athens this weekend.

Oldie moldy picture. We're goofs & didn't break out a camera. Just pretend.

 She ran off and ditched me this year..it was something about her career goals..future..something.. blah, whatev.. I don’t know..I miss her. Anyways, a  vast chunk of our joyous freshman-year dinning hall experience resided in this nifty little dessert: Eclair Squares. Don’t let the name fool you, there’s no French pastry foolishness to be found, but they were for sure our dinning hall jam. We used to mark the calendar for Eclair square day, it was a big deal.  She was coming, I had no other choice, I had to make them. I can’t help that they happen to be the simplest dessert ever concocted.

The absolute picture of unpretentious. Unpretentious, but delicious. The kind of unpretentious deliciousness that makes it super easy to eat one for dinner, then have another one for dessert…and then maybe keep munching on those suckers throughout the night. It might have happened.

 

Check out the humble beginnings. Yeah, that’s seriously that. I mean, at least I did my own thing for the chocolate glaze..that means I’m not a complete loafer, yeah? Oh and do take note of all my Kroger brand ingredients, college economics right there.

So maybe you don’t break out swanky dessert wine, but sometimes you just can’t beat that easy, soccer-mom kind of love in your mouth. More importantly, It’s a food memory and that’s what we’re all about here.

mmmmmm. Melty, chocolatey goodness. Hey guess what, I’m totally eating another one as I write this. Either they’re good, or I have severe separation anxiety from the dinning hall. Pretty sure I do not. I can’t tell you how jazzed other ex-meal plan patrons were when I told them about this.

For the sake of this reunion I had to stick to the original, but I fully condone throwing some flair up in there. Add some banana slices, switch your pudding up, throw some peanut butter in the mix. Whatever tickles your fancy my dear, whatever you please.

Eclair Squares

adapted from Timeless Treasures, Valdosta Jr. Service League Community Cookbook

For the Eclair Squares:

  • 1 box honey grahm crackers
  • 2 boxes instant French silk vanilla pudding
  • 3 C. milk
  • 1 container frozen whipped topping, thawed

For the Chocolate Glaze:

  • 1/4 C. butter
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 1 Tbsp Cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 C. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 C. confectioners sugar

Line a 9×13 inch pan with grahm crackers

Beat the pudding mix and milk with and electric mixer on medium speed until pudding thickens-about 2 minutes. Stir in the whipped topping.

Spread half the filling in an even layer over the grahm crackers. Place another layer of grahms on top and repeat with the remaining filling. Cover with a final top layer of grahm crackers.

Put chocolate chips in a  heat proof bowl and set aside.

In a saucepan over medium heat melt the butter and stir in the milk and cocoa. Bring to a boil, remove from heat, ad immediately pour over chocolate chips.

Allow to stand for five minutes. Then whisk until smooth, adding in the vanilla.

Stir in the powdered sugar.

Spread the chocolate in an even coat over the top layer of grahm crackers.

Refrigerate 6 hours or overnight before serving

14 thoughts on “Reunited, and It Felt Real Good

    • Haha thank you Mrs. Drossy! I’m glad I can still count on you to look out for my grammatical well being. Let’s just blame it on lack of sleep ha. I am glad you likey! You should def subscribe and watch my new cyber baby grow 🙂

  1. i feel like if i liked cool whip and what not..that i would enjoy this greatly. is that where i can substitute yummy peanut butter? very good first blog entry. hope to see more to come best friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

