Lavender Citrus Yogurt Cake

Sticking flowers into cake.    Not flour. Flowers.           Who would have ever thought of such?

In the back of my head, I envision a whimsical little baking fairy first coming up with the idea in here whimsical little baking fairy cottage kitchen…

Let’s go with it.

Many thanks, little baking fairy.  Your ingenuity has been well received by society.

You ever cook with flowers?

Something magical happens when you fold dried petals into the batter of baked goods. That’s why I say a fairy must be responsible.

By something magical, I mean a light infusion of floral flavor that makes whatever your tossing them there flowers into taste sweetly lifelike… like nature and delicateness.

If you can’t tell, I’m really obsessed with lavender right now.

I just want to sprinkle lavender all over my life.    I bought lavender-scented shaving cream the other day… that’s a start?

 Actually, I’ve been obsessed with a splendidly eclectic blend of things here recently.

Like anything bright and sunshiny. Bright and sunshiny things to warm my face and bring light to every day.

  Citrus counts in that category of warm sunshiny-type stuff.  Fresh and fragrant citrus fruit counts big time as a matter of fact.

Which is why this cake is pretty much the bomb right now.   It’s bringing together two of my emerging obsessions… and one of my longs-standing obsessions.                Flowers and citrus, uniting in a cake– that’s a beautiful thing. Totally obsession-worthy.

Yes, for certain. Bright and floral belong in cakes.     And in dresses.

Airy cakes and airy dress are two of life’s greatest pleasures.   Remember that.

This week, I’ve also been really into cats.           Okay, more like I’ve been really into a cat.
A cat that doesn’t belong to me.

Really into playing with her, taking a 10002 pictures of her,  talking to her in my sassy kitty voice…    because Bell is a totally sassy kitty. With a really not sassy name.    I changed it.    I was not a fan of Bell at all, so call her Kitty instead.

Hope her real mommy doesn’t mind.

Cat-sitting Kitty has been a great experience. Kitty kept me company as I obsessed over flowers and sunshine. And Kitty taught me a good deal about myself…   I used to think I wanted a cat. In fact, I thought I might just make a pretty good cat lady.

 Now, I realize that at this point in my life… I would not be a suitable caregiver for a Kitty of my very own.

Kitties are noisy and make me sneezy. I can’t much deal with that right now.    But Kitty care giving was fun while it lasted.

So there we go, my obsessions of the week– lavender, sunshine vibes and playing with, but not owning, kitties.

That’s all she wrote.

 Except for my obsession right at the present moment… which is making sure I am totally organized and prepared to head out of here in a few hours.

I’m leaving for a NYC adventure, ya’ll.

And I can sometimes be an anxious traveler. Sometimes.               So send me sunshiny vibes, if ya wanna.

Reconvene next week?   Maybe I’ll have good stories.        Happy weekend!

Lavender Citrus Yogurt Cake

Adapted from Ina Garten

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup plain whole-milk yogurt
  • 1 & 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 extra-large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2  lemons)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp orange extract
  • 1/8 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/8 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp dried lavender petals (available in the spice section of many grocery stores)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch loaf pan. Line the bottom with parchment paper. Grease and flour the pan.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt into 1 bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, sugar, the eggs,  Lemon zest, vanilla extract, orange extract, and juices. Slowly whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. With a rubber spatula, fold the vegetable oil into the batter, making sure it’s all incorporated. Gently mix in the lavender.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes, or until a cake tester placed in the center of the loaf comes out clean.

When the cake is done, allow it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove to a cooling rack to cool completely. Slice and serve as you please.

2 thoughts on “Lavender Citrus Yogurt Cake

  1. I defiitely want to try this; I’ve never had any flower petals in food period. Sounds definitely interesting; especially the lavender/citrus combo.

  2. Pingback: I Scream for Ice Cream! « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

