Chocolate Chip & Pretzel Peanut Butter Cookies

One time, this guy asked me why I needed more than one chocolate chip  cookie recipe.
He did it in a real snarky way, too.

Equally snarky, I said, “Boy, why you need more than one pair of shoes???”

I’m lying. I didn’t say that at all. I wish I had, because it’s essentially the same concept.

Instead, I simply tried to explain that very much like different pairs of shoes, different chocolate chip cookie recipes serve different needs.

I mean, you wouldn’t wear those creepy Five Finger toe shoes to a cocktail party…
actually, you know somebody somewhere out there would. But I wish they would not. In fact, I wish nobody would wear those shoes ever.  They’re weird.

Anyway theoretically, you wear nice, spiffy, I feel stunning tonight dress shoes to a cocktail party. Because that’s what you need to hob-nob with other fine folks in fine footwear over martinis and bite-sized everythings wrapped in phyllo dough.

In the same way, different occasions call for different chocolate chip cookies.

Sometimes you need chewy chocolate chip cookies, sometimes you need  crunchy chocolate chip cookies, sometimes you need nutty chocolate chip cookies, sometimes you need chocolate chip cookie bars, sometimes you need Grandma’s chocolate chip cookies, sometimes you need sophisticated chocolate chip cookies and sometimes you need Toll House chocolate chip cookie dough from the refrigerated section of the grocery store, just to eat raw out the package.               At least, I do.      Those aren’t usually the best of times.

And then sometimes, you really need  peanut butter chocolate chip cookies chocked full of pretzels.     You actually need those quite often.      Or yet again–     at least, I do.

Truly, I might just consider them my lazy flip flops (that I throw on for taking out the garbage or running to Kroger)  cookie.     In terms of shoes that is.

Perhaps comparing them to old nappy flip flops I’ve had since the 10th grade isn’t the most flattering way to present a cookie.

I only say it that way cause I have a strange affinity for making confusing metaphors and because I feel like I turn to this recipe a lot, like I turn to those nappy flops a lot.  And I turn to this recipe a lot because:

A.) People really like it.

B.) It’s really easy. Ridiculously easy.     I don’t even have to measure out flour type of easy.

Thus, we have a single cookie satisfying a multitude of needs. That’s a beautiful thing.
Need for simple, need for a guaranteed crowd pleaser, need for the timeless peanut butter-chocolate combo complemented by a crisp and salty contrast… all covered.     The more you think about it, the more I think you’ll realize that you too have needs these cookies can satisfy…

Point is, don’t let any snarky dude tell you that you have no need for a wide chocolate chip cookie repertoire. They’re just rude and ignorant and jealous that you have cookies and they don’t.
And don’t let anyone try to convince you that you need creepy toe shoes… you don’t, I swear.
By the same token, don’t you dare let them feed you lies about not needing your nasty old flip flops.    If they try, just feed them chocolate chip and pretzel peanut butter cookies.

That’ll fix them.

Chocolate Chip & Pretzel Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 ounces semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup broken, thin pretzel pieces

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Beat together the peanut butter and sugars until combined and fluffy. Mix in the egg. Next, blend in the baking powder, then vanilla extract. Stir in the chocolate chips and pretzel pieces.

Scooping by generous tablespoonful, form the dough into balls and arrange two inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake cookies until puffed and golden, about 10-12 minutes. Cool on sheets 5 minutes, then transfer to racks; cool completely.

Leave a Reply

