White Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

There are many things I love about you. Many many things.

Like your darned good looks and debonair charm.

But ya know what I love most about you guys?

You accept me.

Though you may not always understand me, you always accept me. Just as I am.

You take my  quirks and oddities and butchered grammar in stride.

As we head into warm and sunshiny months, you accept that you’re not likely to ever see a recipe for a cool summer gazpacho on this blog, because soups that are intentionally chilled pretty much gross me out.
Yet, I absolutely eat leftover soup straight from the fridge.

And I would advise you to accept and do the same.

It tastes different cold.

Good different.

Not a weird “I made this to be cold, so that makes me cool” different.

I love how you accept that roughly 63% of what I say makes little to no sense.

Not that I can actually watch you at your computer, but in my head, you sit there and nod politely like you have the slightest clue as to what I’m trying to say.

Half the time, I wish I knew what I was trying to say.

Like that whole tangent on soup that just happened… what was that?

I don’t know. But it’s fine. We’re accepting it.

You’re amazingly cool with my shortcomings.

Like when I don’t post an actual recipe for like two weeks, you accept that without fuss.

And when I post my homework in lieu of  recipes, you totally accept that too.

Then, when I finally do get back around to talking cheesecake and chocolate, you accept that I have nothing but excruciatingly awful final product shots to illustrate the discussion. Because like a goober, I didn’t break out a camera until after the cheesecake had essentially been hacked to pieces.

Geeze, just look at you accepting all of this like a champ. It might be because, all else aside, we are indeed talking cheesecake… espresso cheesecake built on top of crushed white chocolate macadamia nut cookies, coated with caramel, and coated again with white chocolate.
By the way, thank you for accepting my fanaticism for coffee and cheesecake.

If spell check didn’t exist, you’d also have to accept that I can’t seem to spell cheesecake correctly on the first go around.

Understand, I’m not glorifying being a push-over or tolerating unacceptable behavior or anything like that.

But to show acceptance to people just for who the are, as flawed and bizarre though they may be, that’s real admirable.

So muchos kudos to you.

And kudos to my mother for accepting that I told her I’d post the recipe for this White Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake over three weeks ago… and am just now doing it.
I bet she accepts my apology.

Oh you beautiful accepting people.

White Mocha Cheesecake

For the crust

  • 2 cups crushed white chocolate macadamia nut cookie crumbs (roughly 10-12 large cookies)
    **Note a food processor is going to be your best bet here. Feel free to use a different cookie, such as graham crackers if you prefer
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
For the cheesecake
  • 4 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 & 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 4 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

For the brown sugar caramel sauce

  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butte (1/2 a stick)
  • 1/8 cup heavy cream
  • 1-2 Tbsp coffee liquor

For the white chocolate ganache

  • 6 ounces good quality white chocolate, chopped
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Mix the crushed cookies and melted butter in a mixing bowl so that the crumbs are thoroughly moistened with butter. Wrap the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan in heavy-duty aluminum foil  Press the mixture into the bottom and slightly up the sides of springform pan. Bake 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the cream, coffee powder, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Set aside.

Beat the cream cheese in a large bowl until smooth and fluffy. Beat in the sugar, then eggs– 1 at a time. Beat in the flour, then the remaining vanilla (1 tsp).

Whisk the espresso mixture until powder is completely dissolved. Blend with the  cream cheese mixture. Pour espresso-cheescake mixture into the prepared crust. Place the springform pan in a larger baking pan and fill with hot water about half-way up the sides of the springform pan, creating a water bath. Bake for about 1 hour and 5 minutes, or until set (center should still be a little jiggley).

Cool on a rack for 30 minutes. In the meantime, prepare the caramel sauce.

Combine the sugar, butter, and cream in a heavy bottom sauce pan over medium heat, stirring constantly until butter and sugar are completely melted and you begin to have a smooth sauce. Bring the mixture to a light boil, stirring often. Allow the sauce to boil 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool down (3-5 minutes). Stir in the coffee liquor to taste.

Pour the sauce over the cooled cheesecake and chill the cake in the fridge for at least 6 hours or over night. After the cheesecake has sufficiently cooled, carefully run a butter knife around the inside edge of the springform pan, then gently release and remove the sides of the pan.

Prepare the ganache. Place the chocolate in a stainless steel bowl, set aside. Heat cream and butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a bowl. immediately pour the boiling cream over the chocolate and allow to stand 5 minutes. Whisk until smooth.

Pour the ganache over the top of  the chilled cheesecake in an even layer. Allow to set for about 5 minutes. Cut cheesecake into slices and serve.

Leave a Reply

