Double Dipped Butterfinger Bars

Help.

I have a problem.

My problem is this…

I really dig anything dipped in chocolate.

Obviously. I double dipped these crazy easy peasy addictive DIY candy bars not once but twice.

Dip it in chocolate, It’ going in my face.

That in and of itself is a problem.

But my bigger issue here is that as much as I do so love chocolate dipping, I’m atrociously bad at it.

Start to finish. Just not pretty.

When it comes to actually dunking the given item in it’s glorious chocolate bath, I make a mess. Everywhere.    Stove. Utensils. Counter. Myself. Everywhere.
Mess. Yuck. Chocolate mess. Yum.

And okay, I do my doggone darndest to use proper dipping protocol… sticking stuff on sticks, letting it drip, all that jazz… but my final product rarely comes out smooth  and flawless like other people seem to make so effortlessly.

What am I missing?

This is killing my kitchen self esteem and any potential dream of one day becoming the next Willy Wonka.

Then, what bugs me even more than everything else combined is photo shoot time…
Sloppy choco-dipped item A goes into the freezer to chill.
Sloppy choco-dipped item A acclimates to a frigid climate?
Sloppy choco-dipped item A comes out of the freezer to face the paparazzi. (Me)
Sloppy choco-dipped item A gets nervous under the bright lights and shows up sweating in all my pictures.

It’s not cute.

If you have any advice on how to improve my life dipped in chocolate, please do share.  For now, pardon my lumpy, sweating candy bars… their appearance doesn’t stop them from being scrumptious.

I swear.

Immensely better than real Butterfingers.

Side note: Bless the soul who figured a way to give candy corn an identity other than bane of the Halloween candy aisle. Melting that junk down into Nickelodean orange goop totes made my day.

Double Dipped Butterfinger Bars

  • 1 lb candy corn
  • 16 oz jarred peanut butter
  • 12 ounces white chocolate
  • 12 ounces semi sweet chocolate
  • 2 tbsp vegetable shortening

Line an 8×8 pan with parchment or wax paper.

Melt candy corn in microwave in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir after each interval. Stir in peanut butter.
Spread mixture into pan and cool completely. Using a sharp knife, cut into rectangles.

Melt the white chocolate and 1 tbsp of the shortening in a heavy bottom saucepan over low heat stirring constantly (low may alternatively do this in the microwave, mixing at 15 second intervals). Dip each candy bar into the melted chocolate and allow excess to drip back into the pan. Place on a wax paper-lined baking sheet and allow to harden completely.

Repeat process with the semisweet chocolate and remaining 1 Tbsp shortening.

One thought on “Double Dipped Butterfinger Bars

Leave a Reply

