Cockroach Clusters & and Ode to The End

Last night at the stroke of 12, countless Potterheads of all colors and creeds united in theaters around the globe.

Most were probably in elaborate dress.

In one sense I am beyond jeally. In another, I’m glad I couldn’t be there. It buys me but a bit more time before the painful farewell.

We knew it was coming. Anticipated it after Lord Voldemort shot crazy lightning bolts over a dead Dumbeldore back in October. Enthusiastically looked forward to experiencing the final cinematic chapter…

But oh, such bittersweet fulfillment.

With the release of the final film, sadly comes the end of an era.    An era also known as my childhood.

My generation grew up with Harry. I was in the 3rd grade when I first picked up the book bearing a funny lookin little lad flying his broomstick into the hearts of millions. This was back in the day before parents started spazzing about evil books possessing their brats, so it was always the thrill of our school day when all us tiny tikes would circle around Mrs. What’s Her Face’s rocking chair and travel far away to a castle hidden somewhere in the UK.

Then came that first cheesetastic movie, with the awkward prepubescent version of our favorite magical heroes.

More books,  a few directors and Dumbledores later…

And now, it’s all over.

Okay woah, melodrama.

Let’s get real. The Potter passion will never die.

Tomorrow, I’ll finally get to go see the saga conclude silver screen style; and then, magical mania will doubtlessly go on.

Movie marathons, reread the series for the third time through a few years down the line, pilgrimages to the Wizarding World or Harry Potter.    What up Orlando, Florida?

Hogwarts will always be home for those who need it. Muggles included.

No lie though, I’m pretty bummed that I wasn’t able to go all out for the big finale.

After all, I have been known to put on a Potter party or two in my day.

Plus, this kind of magic is something that should be shared with other freaks like yourself. With food and festivity and sitting in a packed out theater dressed like a total weirdo.

It’s a beautiful thing.

You should totally check out some of the fan fare going on right now. People really whipped up some pretty wicked stuff in honor of the Deathly Hallows.

Like this and that and maybe some like this …or perhaps over here is more your style

Obvi, I wasn’t about to conjure an entire enchanted feast for just me. That’d be ridiculous.

But I did want to throw together at least a little something real quick to commemorate the day. A tip of my tall pointy hat, if you will.

So, I give you my personal take on cockroach clusters.

In the book, they’re made with actual cockroaches… I wouldn’t really suggest that, unless your into those weird creepy crawly foreign Delicacies.

And with dark chocolate, protein-packed nuttiness and 57% of your daily recommended fiber… you might just call these little buggers healthy. It’s like magic…

Please don’t walk away now.

I would never sacrifice your dessert enjoyment for the sake of nutrition. You do know me like that.  I swear, they’re totally legit. I’ve already made my way through half of them.

Or more.

Woah. That’s a terrible picture.   My bad.

But as a wise wizard once said, “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

See, that’s what my camera was doing… trying to turn on the light.

Goober camera. Doesn’t even produce enchanted moving picture.

I guess if we can all at least have one complete and utter dweeb card in our hand, Potter  is mine.

…kinda sounded like Voldy just then.

Anyway, when I was little, I would literally sit behind our couch for hours reading my beloved Harry Potter. I would do wearing a bath robe, clutching my stuffed snowy white owl and all the while believing I was Hermione Granger.

Those stories really were really real to my young, oddish self. And it’s that kind of magic which keeps me believing in the power of the written word… makes me excited to pursue a career in writing. Being able to transport people without floo powder…that’s a pretty amazing capability. One that J.K. Rowling has mastered with intensity. You go girl.

Today, I have slightly more tact in costume design and could never fit behind the couch, even with magic. Actually,  I don’t really know why I did that in the first place.

My Hogwart’s letter should be arriving any day now…I’m sure it just got held up in the post with this whole battle of good vs. evil thing going on. In the mean time, I’m gonna start filling out transfer applications to Brown University so I can go inform Emma that I’m her long-lost BFF.

So thank you Harry for promoting youthful imagination. And thank you whoever Asian Idiot is, because THIS absolutely made my day.

Cockroach Clusters

  • 12 oz dark chocolate
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted almonds
  • 2 cups Fiber One cereal

Line a baking sheet with wax paper and set aside.

Melt the chocolate and peanut butter together in a saucepan over low heat. Once melted and smooth, mix in the nuts and cereal. Scoop out by tablespoonful and form into ovular cockroach shapes.

Place on prepared baking sheet and put in fridge to set.

Mischief managed.

One thought on “Cockroach Clusters & and Ode to The End

Leave a Reply

