Sweet Potato Ribbons

Sometimes I tend to err a touch on the wordy side. I do apologize. Today I’m gonna try super hard to be utterly concise, hook you up with some sweet taters, and put the matter to rest

Translation: “I’m drowning in English reading assignments that I truly should have killed over the weekend, but instead got a little too caught up in the amazing weather, making vats of soup, and recapturing my youth with uplifting digital animation.”  My bad. (Sidenote– If you haven’t seen Toy Story 3, make seeing it a priority. If you have, watch it again).

Plus I have a foreboding gut feeling that this week is planning to whoop my booty. Not happening. I’m a ninja..on the inside. I will bring a smack-down. I’m rambling. I’m sorry.

This one goes out to busy folks who really dig sweet potatoes. We’re totes magotes in the same boat.

Admire my poetic skills.  Wooooo.

I’ll tell you a secret. This was actually a failed attempt at a big fat single server sweet potato latke thing. The name didn’t exactly roll off the tongue anyway.

Accidents are usually great learning experiences. Which brings me to an **Important Kitchen Principle**: Be fearless. Visualize; attack; don’t hold back. Say you mess up; as long as you don’t catch anything major on fire, it’s seriously no biggie. Sometimes you end up with something pretty nifty.

This plates up pretty if you mold your warm sweet tato ribbons into a nice little ball and serve it alongside some bright green vegetation.

I would show you, except my roommate came in with a male companion & I felt goofy about photographing my dinner. In retrospect, I feel goofy for feeling goofy over something like that. Oh well, it happens.

Sweet Potato Ribbons

Can  easily be multiplied and served as a side dish for a group

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 red delicious apple, diced
  • 1/2 small white onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp cashews, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • plain yogurt for serving

Wash the sweet potato and shred it into “ribbons” using a vegetable peeler.

Combine the sweet potato ribbons, diced apple, onion, and cashews in a medium mixing bowl. Stir in the egg with a large fork, making sure  it is throughly combined so that it coats all of the ingredients. Mix in the seasonings.

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add in the sweet potato mixture in a single even layer. Allow to cook for about 5 minutes or until nicely browned on the underside.

Flip the ingredients over, scrambling the mixture up as you go. Continue cooking an additional 4-6 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove to a plate and serve with a dollop of plain yogurt.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Ribbons

  1. darcy, your making me hungry. Plus, my boyfriend is gonna get tired of me makin him eat healthy cause I’m tryin out these recipes. lol.

    • Hahaha sorry girly, that means you need to get in the kitchen! Ohh geeze, well healthy can be super yummy…and if you need a not-so-healthy fix, play with one of the dessert recipes too :)

Leave a Reply

