Crepes! You Can Do It!

I’m extremely fortunate in my randomly acquired roommates thus far in life. It almost seems unfair when I listen to other people’s horror stories …and I do mean horror, not like they snore or leave dirty socks everywhere. Straight psychos.

I guess mine have their quirks, but I think I’d be severely distraught if they were completely normal. Otherwise, they probably wouldn’t be my friends and I would hate my life and that would just be a shame. Plus the enrichment they bring to my existence far outweighs their oddities. Prime example: Nutella.

Understand me when I say, I Love Nutella. I wish I could dip my life in Nutella. However, prior to last year I was plain ignorant to its chocolate-hazelnutty goodness.  My freshman year roomie– oh bless that little German schnitzel’s soul– first introduced me to Nutella. Love at first bite.  That was cheesy. whoopsie.

One of my new roomies this year showed me a magnificent new way to harness the magic of Nutella.

Meet Rachel. Rachel is a nutjob… but I like it. Dearest roommate Rachel fluently speaks French, she studied in France, she experienced French cuisine up close and personal. Hi, my name is Jealous.

This grand day in October, Rachel shared cultural gold with me. She taught me to make crepes. We deemed it crepe day. Twas glorious.

Looky at my first crepe! So pwetty. I think it’s sorta funny how French food has this big fat pretentious stigma slapped on it. I’m no expert or anything, but from what I can tell, the French favor relative simplicity in their food. Crepes, uhh so easy. Probably easier than making pancakes, but loads fancier. I think the French mystique lies in technique, rather than complexity. That sounded relatively insightful, go me.

I can’t wait to make these suckers for someone else and impress the snot out of them. Utter sophistication.

We filled our delicate little French burritos with fresh fruit and all holy Nutella, as demonstrated by lovely roommate #2, everyone say hello to Meredith. Of course, you can stuff yours with whatever your heart desires. I see great potential for the savory crepe.

Continually writing the word “French” makes me want cheese real bad.

Paula Deen once made banana Nutella crepes. Naturally, if we were making crepes, I had to follow in her iconic footsteps.

Go make crepes, impress your friends. You might feel like Julia Child. Who doesn’t want that? Bon appétit!

French Crepes

adapted from Allrecipes.com

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • Nutella chocolate-hazelnut spread
  • fresh strawberries and banana, sliced

Sift together flour, sugar and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, beat eggs and milk together with an electric mixer. Beat in flour mixture until smooth; stir in melted butter.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 2 tablespoons for each crepe. Tip and rotate pan to spread batter as thinly as possible. Quickly pour any excess back into the bowl. Brown on both sides.

Fill with Nutella and fruit. Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Crepes! You Can Do It!

Leave a Reply

